Surfset Review

surfset sweat republic san francisco | almost getting it together

First off, I want to thank every one of you who read Tuesday’s post. Each and every one of your comments, shares and texts about it made my day. It’s a piece of writing I’m genuinely proud of so I’m happy it resonated with you.

One of the best parts of living in a real city and not Pittsburgh is there are a TON of new gyms and workouts to try. (Side note: I miss Amazing Yoga and my monthly unlimited pass more than you could ever imagine.) I’d read about Surfset on blogs before and thought that I would love this type of workout and it would hopefully improve my surfing next time I got on a board (aka as soon as the waves out here stop being flat). Basically Surfset is kind of a mix of yoga, pilates and actual surfing moves (pop-ups, fake duck dives, etc.) on a 6-foot foam board balanced on stability balls.

surfset sweat republic san francisco | almost getting it together

You can see the board set up here and also me doing a fake-ish plank.

Apparently Surfset was also on Shark Tank, which I know about from their website. My only knowledge of Shark Tank comes from Good Morning America which also brings me all of my knowledge about Dancing with the Stars, The Bachelor and all other ABC shows I don’t watch besides Scandal.

I took the class at Sweat Republic in the Marina District, a few blocks from my house. Both instructors I have taken from have been great. The playlist is awesome and an hour is gone literally when you feel like you’ve just walked in the door. They offer a lot of great feedback and different modifications for different levels. My core and arms were definitely sore the next day.

surfset sweat republic san francisco | almost getting it together

Attempting dancer’s pose.

If you’ve ever done yoga on a paddle board it’s vaguely similar. I officially haven’t done yoga on a paddle board but maybe drunkenly tried to be a show off and do a few poses on one once and promptly fell into the lake. Anyway, I have fitness class ADD and typically am miserable 10 minutes into a group fitness class but I actually look forward to Surfset.

Special thanks to my girl Kay for all the photos. If you don’t follow her blog you should really start now.

Chat with me:
Group fitness – yay or nay? Have you tried Surfset? Do you have any questions about it for me?

48 comments on “Surfset Review

Avatar image
Susie @ SuzLyfe on November 13, 2014 7:17 am

I would love to try this because I think that it would be so great for your stabilizers in your legs for running. I’ve been doing a lot of group fitness classes of late, and there are highlights and lowlights for me throughout–I tend to find that things are high enough resistance-wise for me (I did just run a long race), but I am getting back to enjoying the group feel of it, and not having to think about and create my own workouts!
Susie @ SuzLyfe recently posted…Happy Dance and Class Pass Referral Discount (Thinking Out Loud)My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:13 am

Oh man, that is such a good point… I bet it will help running. I’ve felt faster most days naturally… but still have some work to do haha.

Avatar image
Heather @Fit n Cookies on November 13, 2014 7:28 am

This looks fun! I saw Sarah (PickyRunner) took a class like this a few weeks ago and it looked fun. I did SUP yoga at Deep Creek this year and I was awful, haha!!
Heather @Fit n Cookies recently posted…Why I Work out at HomeMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:14 am

Oh man, I fake did SUP yoga once and was terrible.

Avatar image
Hilary on November 13, 2014 7:49 am

I am so jealous of your new city life! I have been wanting to try this out but there aren’t exactly many places (if any haha) in Ohio to do this! Guess I will just have to plan to try it on my next vacation!
Hilary recently posted…High Protein Oats RecipeMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:14 am

Yes, I think there’s nothing wrong with planning fitness during vacation!

Avatar image
Sarah on November 13, 2014 7:52 am

This is the type of board we used when I did the floyo class last week! It was really hard but I think it’s so cool that it really does make you feel like you’re in the water. I was surprised how sore I was afterwards!!
Sarah recently posted…One of those weeksMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:15 am

Yes, I love when I’m surprisingly sore!

Avatar image
Chris on November 13, 2014 9:10 am

Pretty sure Pittsburgh qualifies as a real city. Also, most random comment you’ll get today, but you look kind of like the girl from Divergent. Yes, that’s a compliment. So there you go.
Chris recently posted…I’m Getting StrongerMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:10 am

Hahaha best comment of the day, maybe of November so far. Thank you, totally going to take that as a compliment.

Avatar image
Chris on November 18, 2014 12:13 pm

Woohoo! I’m #1! =)

Avatar image
Lesley @ the Breakfast Runner on November 13, 2014 9:26 am

Totally saw them on Shark Tank awhile ago. Nerd status.
Lesley @ the Breakfast Runner recently posted…My favorite recipes this weekMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:09 am

I need to get on the Shark Tank train!

Avatar image
Farrah on November 13, 2014 10:08 am

This looks really fun! I love all the awesome fitness classes/gyms/etc. that have been popping up everywhere. :] Makes the experimentation that much more fun! (I just wish I had more time/money to do it all!)
Farrah recently posted…November Blog Challenge (#12-#13)My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:04 am

I know… time is what I need more of!!

Avatar image
Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine on November 13, 2014 10:28 am

I am so jealous! I have ALWAYS wanted to do this, haha! Seems so cool and such a FUN workout!
Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine recently posted…Sweet Pumpkin & Bell Pepper Sprouted Black Eyed PeasMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:05 am

Pretty sure they have it in DC, look it up! :)

Avatar image
Ivette @ All About Bham on November 13, 2014 11:03 am

This looks awesome!!!
Ivette @ All About Bham recently posted…Easy Fall Decor Ideas For Your Home (Video)My Profile

Avatar image
Anna on November 13, 2014 11:08 am

This looks like such a great workout! I love surfing (based on the one time I tried it) and even after just 3 hours of it, I could feel what an amazing workout it was. I’d definitely love to try this but I don’t think it exists on the East Coast…

As far as group fitness goes, I like it. I know that at the very least, I’ll be getting a full workout rather than using workout machines and being too easy on myself. I like the direction and having someone who knows what they’re doing telling me what to do.
Anna recently posted…Let’s Catch UpMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:01 am

I think there is Surfset lots of places on the East Coast…at least in DC!

Avatar image
Sam @ Better With Sprinkles on November 13, 2014 12:03 pm

I want to try something like this! I’ve done SUP once and I loved it – so why not throw some yoga in there too?
Sam @ Better With Sprinkles recently posted…Fabletics Review.My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:59 am

I feel like you would LOVEEEE this since you love yoga and SUP!

Avatar image
Justine Y on November 13, 2014 12:36 pm

I have not heard of this and it sounds awesome! I haven’t surfed in years so I’m sure I’d be terrible at it, but I really want to give it a try!
Justine Y recently posted…awesome homemade mac & cheeseMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:00 am

Lots of people in there have never surfed… I think yoga is key :)

Avatar image
Kay @ Kay Bueno on November 13, 2014 12:57 pm

So are we going again this weekend? :)

Also, hilariously, I posted the same review this morning before checking other blogs. I love the pictures from this! I want to get more once we—okay I, can legit balance on one of these things.
Kay @ Kay Bueno recently posted…Sweat Republic Surf Set ReviewMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 1:00 am

Yes, we need to get more photos! YOU DID GREAT!! So much good blog content lately I loveeee it :)

Avatar image
Whitney Carney on November 13, 2014 1:23 pm

This looks like so much fun! I would love to try this, but you know WV is kind of limiting in the variety of workout classes. Thank goodness for spin!!! Depending on the instructor, I do like group workout classes. (if the instructor is good and I feel like I am getting a good workout) They are even better when a friend tags along. Looks like you’re having a blast! :)

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:58 am

Yes, the instructor has to be good and you have to feel like you also got a workout in!

Avatar image
Sharon on November 13, 2014 1:42 pm

This looks like so much fun! I would definitely love to try it, my core needs a good workout! I enjoy group fitness classes, my favs are body combat and spin.
Sharon recently posted…TBT Hiking Post – Tuck and Robin LakesMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:58 am

I love spin, too!

Avatar image
Erin @ Her Heartland Soul on November 13, 2014 3:00 pm

This sounds awesome! I’m glad you’re enjoying your new city!
Erin @ Her Heartland Soul recently posted…NewsMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:58 am

Thank you, xo!

Avatar image
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs on November 13, 2014 3:03 pm

There’s a Surfset gym near my place and I walk past it, think, “I need to Google them” and promptly forget. So, thank you for reminding me and I totally need to check it out!
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs recently posted…Thursday Things & Starbucks Card Winner!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:57 am

Do it, girl! Let me know what you think :)

Avatar image
Jessica on November 13, 2014 3:18 pm

I have been dying to try this since I saw it in NoVa Mag for “hot new local workouts”!!! I am loving these posts, mama! Keep up all the hard work <3

Also– ummm look how popular you are! GET. IT. my little blogger. LOVE IT!

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:57 am

Hahaha loveeee you. Come visit and Surfset here xoxo

Avatar image
Samantha on November 13, 2014 4:42 pm

Looks so fun! Will you take me sometime???

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:55 am

YES!!

Avatar image
Jessica on November 13, 2014 4:56 pm

Surfset looks fun, but I’m not interested in real surfing because I loathe being wet and avoid swimming.

I go through phases where I really like group fitness. It can be motivating and invigorating. Plus, I met one of my best friends in a bootcamp class!
Jessica recently posted…Giving My Body OverMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:56 am

Haha I think this might be a good way to experience surfing for you then :)

Avatar image
Diana @sosmallsostrong on November 13, 2014 8:39 pm

OMG I want to do this!! You look badass!? Its so much fun to try new workouts… I’m jealous.
Diana @sosmallsostrong recently posted…French Toast CupsMy Profile

Avatar image
Jessie on November 13, 2014 9:37 pm

Just read Kay’s review & man am I jealous! It looks like crazy fun. This is one workout I’ve actually been intrigued about since first hearing about it.
Jessie recently posted…FitFluential Friday #6My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:53 am

It was so fun… need to go again soon!!

Avatar image
GiselleR @ Diary of an ExSloth on November 13, 2014 10:32 pm

We don’t have any cool group classes here in Waterloo except the regular Les Mills ones. Although I love those, it’ll be fun to try some new things. Hopefully one day I can be too school for cool like you and move to SF lol
GiselleR @ Diary of an ExSloth recently posted…Food Blogger Reality: Failed Recipes & Pumpkin GrudgesMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 18, 2014 12:52 am

Fun fact, I’m not cool haha. But yes come move here and try all the trendy fitness classes with me.

Avatar image
Nicole @ Foodie Loves Fitness on November 17, 2014 2:08 pm

I haven’t tried Surfset yet but would totally be up for it. I’ve been trying out so many newage-y workouts lately and they always seem to be challenging and fun!
Nicole @ Foodie Loves Fitness recently posted…San Diego’s Fit Foodie 5K & Why Running is Not My ThingMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on November 17, 2014 11:54 pm

Yes, definitely keeps you from getting bored!

[…] happened upon Sweat Republic my first or second weekend in San Francisco when I took a Surfset class. I loved the feeling of community the gym had and that everyone working was inviting and […]

Comments are closed.