SoulCycle Review

soulcycle soma san francisco | almost getting it together

Last Monday night I fell in love… with SoulCycle. I’m usually not 100% sold ‘OMG I LOVE THIS” when I do a new workout. 90% of the time I think, “eh that was alright, I’d probably do it again”. This was not one of those times.

I don’t want to say I drank the SoulCycle Kool-aide but I totally get it now.  I really honestly don’t like spin classes. I go because I know I should cross-train but I spend the hour trying not to look at the clock every two minutes, waiting for this form of torture to be over. SoulCycle was over before I wanted it to be over. That never happens.

There’s a SoulCycle studio in my neighborhood, The Marina and they just opened up a new, 64-bike studio in SoMa. It’s also right by the new Pressed Juice in SoMa. I went to that because the class fit in my schedule and also having 64 bikes means you have less of a chance of not getting in the class you want. Registration for the next week opens on Mondays at noon so you sign on to the SoulCycle site and register for all the classes you want for the week.

SoulCycle is all about non-judgement. I actually had people refer to it as spin class with therapy. The instructor turns off the lights, lights candles around their bike (it sounds weirder than it is, I promise) and pounds the music. The key to SoulCycle not sucking (in my opinion) as opposed to other spin classes as far as technique goes is to spin to the music. My instructor was Jenny who was an instructor in NYC and moved to SF to help open the Marina and Marin studios and her playlist was on point, from Taylor Swift to Beyonce to Eminem and finishing up with Banks.

Another aspect I loved was that you focused on a lot of upper body work as well. Each bike has 2 or 3 lb weights and you do arm and upper body exercises for 2 or 3 songs. I’m not going to lie – I was slightly sore on Tuesday morning. Actually I was a little sore in my lower body as well, mixing an 8-mile tempo run and SoulCycle together wasn’t my best idea (but a typical one for me).

The next morning, I immediately put SoulCycle shoes and classes on my Christmas list, so now I am officially the Marina Girl stereotype. Pass the green juice, please.

Chat with me:
Have you tried SoulCycle? Are you obsessed? What workout are you dying to try?

24 comments on “SoulCycle Review

Avatar image
Jessie on December 23, 2014 7:13 am

I haven’t even taken the a Soul Cycle class, but your review as me sold! I wanna workout to fun music with candles!
Jessie recently posted…Live The Life You Love, Love The Life You LiveMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 6:36 pm

Candlelight yoga is super fun, too!

Avatar image
Susie @ SuzLyfe on December 23, 2014 7:15 am

I haven’t tried Soul Cycle but I have tried FlyWheel. We are getting a Soul Cycle here in Chicago and I would love to try it–I’m interested to see what is different about it from Flywheel!
Susie @ SuzLyfe recently posted…Manna Organics Sprouted Breads Review, Recipes, Giveaway!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 6:36 pm

I need to try Flywheel so I can compare!!

Avatar image
Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine on December 23, 2014 12:37 pm

YES! SoulCycle is so amazing! I am a fitness snob when it comes to any type of boutique/studio/group/trendy class (ahaha!) But I seriously fell in love with SC! I wouldn’t be able to keep going (way to expensive) But I am so happy I got to have the experience!
Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine recently posted…When You Become More Than YourselfMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:55 pm

Have you tried Class Pass in DC yet?

Avatar image
Anna on December 23, 2014 12:54 pm

I do tend to obsess about new workouts so it’s likely I’d feel the same way about SoulCycle. There’s one right down the street from me and even though I really, really want to try it, the price tag for one class is just too high since I know that along with my current gym membership, I won’t be able to afford it anyway.

I do share your dislike for spin classes, though! I feel great after but can’t stop watching the clock during.
Anna recently posted…Apple Maple Holiday CocktailMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:52 pm

You can do your first class for 20 dollars, usually! Or follow Racked, etc. in your city for a free class or a Soul Community class for new instructors!

Avatar image
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs on December 23, 2014 12:58 pm

There isn’t a SoulCycle studio in Calgary, but I go to a spin studio with a similar feel. Dark lights, candles, loud music and I freaking love it. It’s effing hard but I feel so badass afterwards.
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs recently posted…A Very Merry Christmas SurveyMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:51 pm

YES!! I left feeling totally empowered.

Avatar image
Bain on December 23, 2014 1:22 pm

Unfortunately SoulCycle has a policy that group fitness instructors from other studios are not welcome to attend. That means I can’t go.

I’m glad you have found a group ex class you like. I’ve found the more I love an activity, the more I will actually go do it–which is good for my body and my brain. Happy riding!

http://wellandgood.com/2014/05/02/soulcycle-bans-fitness-instructors-from-its-cycling-classes/

http://bostinno.streetwise.co/2014/05/05/soulcycle-makes-public-ban-for-instructors/
Bain recently posted…Spartan Races–Spartan Up! Run Free!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:58 pm

So sorry to hear about that – hopefully they change the policy soon!

Avatar image
Alexa on December 23, 2014 3:31 pm

Hey There! I’m working on getting my post up too! It was great meeting you!
I actually believe the instructor for Racked class was Jenny Gaither https://www.soul-cycle.com/instructors/102/jenny/
Hope you are enjoying your holidays!
Alexa recently posted…Flywheel Opens in the Bay Area + Free Class For 11/24!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:50 pm

Whoo thanks for letting me know, I need to fix that :)

Avatar image
Whitney Carney on December 23, 2014 8:09 pm

This sounds great. I’m on my way now so we can go to a class together..

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:49 pm

Can this happen please???

Avatar image
Farrah on December 23, 2014 11:23 pm

:D I’ve never had a chance to try it out yet, but SoulCycle sounds like fun! (Hooray for built-in therapy and feeling awesome afterward too! :P ) I’d love to try a barre class somewhere next year. :]
Farrah recently posted…Dear Body…My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:50 pm

Yes!! Barre is so fun, too!

Avatar image
Mattie @ Comfy & Confident on December 30, 2014 7:10 pm

I am dying to try Soul Cycle! I hear so many great things and I just really need to give it a try.
Mattie @ Comfy & Confident recently posted…Meet & Greet with Julia FordMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:16 pm

I can’t wait to go back!

Avatar image
Nicole @ Foodie Loves Fitness on December 31, 2014 12:14 am

I’m the exact same way about cycling classes… they usually bore me, but I totally agree, when I tried SoulCycle, I really loved it! I think the combo of the good music + switching it up with upper body keeps it interesting and makes the workout speed by.
Nicole @ Foodie Loves Fitness recently posted…ClassPass: A Great Fit for the Hyperactive Exerciser (Like Myself)My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 4, 2015 5:13 pm

Yesss I agree, upper body is the most fun part since it switches things up!

[…] about everything) about living in San Francisco is all the boutique fitness studios! I’m a SoulCycle junkie, love taking Surfset classes at Sweat Republic and of course you can spot me at a yoga […]

[…] thrown in there afterwards, but we’re always getting some sort of activity in. From yoga to SoulCycle to runs to hiking… I basically don’t know what people do for fun with their friends […]

Comments are closed.