Pressed Juicery Juice Cleanse Review

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

I know… “a juice cleanse isn’t a quick fix”,”juice cleanses are bad for you”… fun fact, I’ve heard every pro and con of a juice cleanse EVER. I had a SUPER indulgent December… i.e. I drank a ton of wine, ate gluten-filled pizza (totally worth it, go to Il Pizzaiolo if you’re ever in Pittsburgh), and not running. I want to caveat that I did this vaguely responsibly, focused on nutrition and did some research about how to keep this from bordering on “fad diet”.

I decided early the week of New Year’s that I was going to have Soberuary, aka not drink this month, and focus on eating at home… and tracking what I’m eating. (Check out Marisa’s Back to Basics January Challenge for other great ideas on how to reset this month!) Once I had a plan in my head, I decided a juice cleanse would be a great way to kick it off because as much as I hate juice cleansing, I love juice cleansing. After eating whatever I felt like (aka still eating a lot of salads but drinking a lot of wine and maybe a few special meals with A), I had no desire to eat things or think about food so a juice cleanse just made sense. And I’m really thankful that I didn’t have to think about food or make time for food once I got back to SF.

I didn’t do a juice cleanse as a quick fix but I did do it to get a jump back on the wagon after hating where my weight had crept up to for approximately three months straight. I did a juice cleanse two years ago (Blueprint) and loved how it cleaned up my pallet and how I felt afterwards. I kind of forgot how awful I felt (minus hitting the wall during a five mile run in Palm Springs… dumb) and how cold I was (I blamed it on Pittsburgh winter) and instead remembered that I was basically the most creative and productive I have ever been afterwards.

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

I spent 20 minutes arranging juices for a photo shoot when I got home.

Pressed Juicery is one of the biggest juice companies in California (but let’s be real, it’s California, there are more juice companies than people basically). There’s one within walking distance of my place (I think I also pass approximately ten other juice places walking there) and they were doing a $35/day special. I paid over $200 for three days on Blueprint so to me, $105 was basically a steal for a cleanse. I know, that’s a lot of money for “food” for a day, but if you think about eating out once or twice per day in SF (not that I normally do that during the week), you’re paying at least that much. (Insert lament about how I miss Pittsburgh and two people eating and having a drink or two for $30, plus tip…)

Anyway, so post drunk-Thai food, Pittsburgh Popcorn Company popcorn eating, my vision cleared up and I realized I couldn’t keep doing this. In my head I’d been “watching” what I was eating for months but I somehow had went through several jars of nut butter in the two months I’ve been living in SF, eating salads and real food but I was still watching my weight creep up. My dad has lost close to 50 pounds since June or July and attributes it all to tracking what he eats on MyFitnessPal. I realized I had to do all the shit I didn’t want to do, i.e. count calories and my macros and open up that little app several times a day.

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

How sad was my empty fridge on Monday?

A juice cleanse for me is more mental than anything else. It reminds me I don’t need chocolate and almond butter and Greek yogurt every single day. Are those things delicious and full of health benefits? Yes, to both of those things. But in moderation. Not in a “just dump a bunch of spoonfuls of cashew butter on everything multiple times a day”. My hair and skin are GREAT because I eat so much [healthy] fat but also my expensive designer jeans are tight. Not good.

Last Monday I went for a slow, watchless 6 miles that ended me at Pressed Juicery. Luckily I got there before the rush (in the 15-20 minutes I was there, probably 10 other girls came in the small shop) and was able to discuss some options with the girl working. I knew I wanted to keep my calories to at least 1200 and get as much protein and fat as possible while keeping sugar as low as possible.

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

Can I buy stock in Pressed Juicery?

Pressed Juicery is awesome because they have at least 3 options for each type of juice – greens, roots, citrus and “signature” aka nut milks. I did two nut milks for extra protein, two greens, a roots and a citrus. I tried all the juices, looked at the nutrition and sugar content of each and chose ones that were nutritionally a better option. I also decided to try out the chlorophyl water and aloe water as supplements. I packed up my 24 bottles(!) and hiked the mile back to my place, stopping at the grocery by my house to grab a lemon and avocado.

I chose to do Greens 3, Brazil Nut (the absolute best one ever!!!), Citrus 1, Roots 1, Greens 1.5 and Chocolate Almond. In between I would drink the chlorophyl water throughout the day (with a lemon wedge) and an aloe water at night. The waters were the worst. I ended up choking down the aloe water on the morning of day two and day three instead of the night of. I even added a teaspoon of chia seeds to make it a little better. The chlorophyl water helped with the headaches from caffeine withdrawal and the aloe helps with digestion.

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

Irony is your boyfriend texting you about a girl he works with eating Doritos while you drink a chlorophyl water like a psychopath.

I remembered Sunday night that on a juice cleanse that don’t just give up food, but coffee as well. That was a rude awakening on Monday. I was a little jet lagged, sad to be back in SF (crazy, I know) and on top of that… freezing, despite it being in the high 50s. I chalked up my extreme coldness on my last cleanse to the actual Pittsburgh winter but this time, I realized it was because my body really wasn’t running on very many calories. I ate some almonds and added some chia seeds to my citrus juice for a little extra protein, fat and energy. I wasn’t feeling drinking more than Citrus 1 that afternoon.

I make it a point to go to yoga when I’m cleansing to go sweat everything out. I headed to an advanced class at Yoga Flow SF and threw my Roots 1 in my bag to drink on my way back. When I got home, I opened Greens 1.5, realized I didn’t even want it, and basically chugged the Chocolate Almond. I got into bed because I was still freezing and realized I was also starved. I inputed all my juices in My Fitness Pal, didn’t like how low my calories were (crazy, I know, but I’m not trying to screw up my metabolism) and immediately ate an entire avocado with hot sauce and sea salt. I slept like I was dead that night, because basically I was dead by that point.

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

Day two: #overit

Day two of a cleanse is the worst and I totally forgot about that. I did another six miles without my watch and felt okay, despite having zero energy from only drinking juice and eating almonds and an avocado the day before. I spent all day completely unfocused, in a daze and absolutely freezing to death, despite wearing a sweatshirt and a jacket all day. I was so over juice. I wasn’t even hungry at that point. And when I was hungry, I didn’t want juice so I just stayed hungry.

I decided to go to Whole Foods that night to buy food to prep for the rest of the week on Wednesday and knew I was probably going to get some soup. Going to Whole Foods on a juice cleanse is either really, really smart or really, really dumb. I wasn’t tempted to buy crap I usually would (artisanal chocolate, three types of yogurt, fancy cheese) and instead just bought a bunch of veggies and fruits.

It was very, very sad when I went by the prepared foods section. I looked sadly at the salad bar, thinking about how I was very likely to binge on an entire salad if I made one and started worrying that this juice cleanse was going to turn me into a binge eater. I looked at the soup options and got a vegan Lebanese Vegetable soup because I was craving chickpeas (protein! fiber!). I finished it in approximately two minutes when I got home then chased it with another chocolate almond milk. I skipped Greens 1.5 again that day.

pressed juicery juice cleanse | almost getting it together

An outtake from my juice photo shoot.

Day three I didn’t run and instead did a strength workout at home. My lack of interest in juice was pretty similar to day two and the freezing continued except I had that crazy thought I always have on day three (and the following day when I can eat) called… I should just keep juice cleansing. I also had decided to come home and make zucchini pasta with pesto and chickpeas so I didn’t really care that I was hungry. I once again skipped Greens 1.5 and ended up drinking them as lunch Monday and Tuesday with a Roots 1 and as a snack on Sunday.

I realized sweet cravings are killed with juice cleanses because they are all so sweet. Despite choosing juices that were lower in sugar, I’m super sensitive to sweet things because I haven’t eaten refined or fake sugar in over a year so I think carrots are sweet. Hell, I eat winter squash for DESSERT most nights like a crazy person.

I should note, I also take a fiber supplement some days (when I feel like it) and a probiotic every day because my doctor prescribes them to me. I think this probably helped keep me feeling okay during the cleanse as well.

I read an article that a person was against cleansing because it made them feel like they were wrong to indulge during the holidays or skip workouts. I don’t think what I did while at home was wrong – I enjoyed being off of my routine and having those extra hours to spend with the people who mean the most to me. I didn’t do a cleanse to “punish” myself because I don’t believe in that. I did a cleanse because I needed to reset and feel good quickly. I’m still watching what I’m eating, trying to eat as vegan as possible (at least until dinner, unless I have yogurt for breakfast) and tracking everything on MyFitnessPal. I’m measuring my food and all those awful things that actual work in helping you lose weight. My jeans are alright less tight and the scale is headed towards a number I’m more okay with seeing.

pressed juicery juice freeze | almost getting it together

PRESSED JUICE JUICE FREEZE!!! So important it needs all caps and three exclamation points. Get the vanilla over the chocolate, trust me. Plus this ish is 40 calories for a small and not filled with fake junk like fro yo places (before toppings, but still!!).

I totally recommend Pressed Juicery’s cleanse. It’s customizable, has lots of options and nutritionally, more solid than BluePrint. Also some of their locations have PRESSED JUICE FREEZE aka something I mentioned over the summer but never thought I would experience, let alone at least once a month. They don’t have it at any of the SF locations (can we add to Union Street, please?) but they do in Palo Alto and Santana Row.

I’m linking up for What I Ate Wednesday… despite it being what I drank.

Chat with me:
Have you ever done a cleanse, juice or otherwise? What are your thoughts on cleanses? Would you ever want to do one? Do you have any questions for me about juicing?

48 comments on “Pressed Juicery Juice Cleanse Review

Avatar image
Susie @ SuzLyfe on January 14, 2015 7:27 am

I do a cleanse every few years, and I refuse to do it more than that. It ends with a doctor sticking a scope where the sun don’t shine (though my mom’s GI’s name is in fact Dr. Sunshine, no lie).
I would like that freeze thing, though.
Susie @ SuzLyfe recently posted…Pavilion Restaurant Chicago Menu TastingMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 14, 2015 8:59 am

Come to SF and we will go get Freeze!!

Avatar image
jess meddows on January 14, 2015 8:47 am

I do them a few times a year, actually, and have to fend off all the comments saying “You know it doesn’t ACTUALLY detox you, right?” I mean, I’ve been a lawyer for 10 years, you’d think my friends know I have some level of critical thinking and analysis going on, right? I do it when I pig out and splurge on holidays and the thought of solids makes me want to hurl. I’m a vegan anyways, so a bunch of juices is never a shock to the system. And boy do I feel good for them after a period of loads of excess! Reset really is the better word for juicing.
jess meddows recently posted…Bunner’s Bakery TorontoMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 14, 2015 8:59 am

Reset is THE BEST way I’ve ever heard it described… love that!

Avatar image
Brynn on January 14, 2015 9:05 am

I have never done a ‘reset’ (love that!) but would love to. I am currently breastfeeding, but once I am done I’d love to do a juice reset and feel back to myself.
Brynn recently posted…Skoop Review + GiveawayMy Profile

Avatar image
Stephanie on January 14, 2015 9:16 am

I love doing a reset, especially after the holidays. Thanks for sharing!
Stephanie recently posted…Pumpkin (Cranberry) Bread and muffinsMy Profile

Avatar image
Bri on January 14, 2015 9:22 am

thanks for sharing an honest review! For everything juice cleanses are not (a way to detox, reset, lose weight, blah blah blah), they can be a way to set you on a good path if you need that kind of extreme kickstart. Three days of juice isn’t harmful, as long as you don’t overindulge once you’re finished!
Bri recently posted…Recipe: Super delicious immunity-boosting green smoothieMy Profile

Avatar image
cait @pieceofcait on January 14, 2015 9:41 am

never done a juice cleanse.. but i did just buy a juicer!! ;) I dont know if I could ever do a juice cleanse tho.. i need some eats in there!
cait @pieceofcait recently posted…Latest favorite Trader Joes breakfast – PB&J oatmealMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 18, 2015 9:09 am

Oooh let me know what juices you make!

Avatar image
Marisa @ Uproot from Oregon on January 14, 2015 9:58 am

I’m having a Soberuary too!!!! That’s a secret part of my Back To Basics because it is just helping me rethink how I plan my social events, drink my calories, etc.

I am super interested in how you went about your juice cleanse. I am someone who currently tracks in MFP like your dad because I have had significant weight loss this year and am trying to find a good maintenance calorie goal, and I think I would have the same issues drinking juice as you did – being COLD in winter + feeling like so much of it is sweet (I feel you on squash for dessert.. yum). I’m glad you supplemented with some clean eats and I would want to do the same. Maybe I’ll try some juices sometime though – I’ve never bought any really.
Marisa @ Uproot from Oregon recently posted…Collard Green Sushi WrapsMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 18, 2015 9:06 am

I would definitely try some juices…they make a great light lunch/snack, too. There has to be some good juice bars in Denver!

Avatar image
Maureen on January 14, 2015 10:35 am

I so want to do a juice cleanse. I know it would help me a ton!
Maureen recently posted…Winter Break Eats {WIAW}My Profile

Avatar image
Lauren on January 14, 2015 10:35 am

Great post! I did a juice cleanse for 3 days once and found I needed a couple spoonfuls of nutbutter to supplement if I ran or did Crossfit (you’re not really supposed to do super serious exercise it said). I definitely had an indulgent holiday season (hello Christmas cookies everyday for 2 weeks straight!) and am trying to clean my act up. I hate tracking but might have to because my jeans too, are tight. le sigh.
Lauren recently posted…Bangin’ Good Shrimp {from The Skinnytaste Cookbook}My Profile

Avatar image
Kay @ Kay Bueno on January 14, 2015 11:14 am

Love the post. I should probably submit and do a cleanse one day, but I think there’s a lot of fear mongering around them. (And not going to lie, I love food.)

Maybe eventually, especially since pressed always looks so delicious.
Kay @ Kay Bueno recently posted…WIAW – Craving’s ahoyMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 18, 2015 9:05 am

I would absolutely cleanse with you again.

Avatar image
Lauren @ ihadabiglunch on January 14, 2015 11:17 am

Props to you — I lasted 12 hours on a juice cleanse before I literally cried and got Chipotle ;) if you can stick with it, I think they are a great idea to reset yourself after a after a particularly indulgent time. BUT I can’t BELIEVE you ran while on one! That’s insane! Yoga for sure, but running? Whoa there. How on earth did you have enough energy? Well, regardless, I’m so glad it made you feel a little better and more in control of your diet :)
Lauren @ ihadabiglunch recently posted…What I Ate Wednesday: back in businessMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 18, 2015 9:05 am

Uhhh I ran reallllly slow haha but the last time I did one I hit the wall running hard.

Avatar image
Erin on January 14, 2015 11:45 am

I agree so much with you about juicing. I have done one cleanse two winters ago, but did it using my own juicer after watching Fat, Sick & Nearly Dead. I don’t want to say juicing is a miracle cure for all things, but with the right nutrients, it totally can make you feel like a new person. A place with fresh pressed juices just opened up near me which is great for the days I don’t have time to juice myself. Good for you! :)
Erin recently posted…I’m freezing and eat a lot.My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:18 pm

I need to use my own juicer more often, you’re right, those nutrients make you feel new!

Avatar image
Carrie A Groff on January 14, 2015 12:10 pm

Thanks for sharing this! It sounds miserable, but worth it lol I would love to try a juice cleanse sometime. I live in Pennsylvania in the heart of Amish country where there are very few healthy places. No juice places near :-(
Carrie A Groff recently posted…Do you need to supplement with a multi-vitamin? Take the 90-Day Peak Performance Challenge!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:11 pm

You can get Blue Print & Pressed shipped to you!

Avatar image
Olivia Schwab on January 14, 2015 12:31 pm

Great post!! Love that you shared your experience with everyone! I’ve always been curious to do a juice cleanse!
Olivia Schwab recently posted…Guest Post: 9 Tips for New Bloggers by TiffanyMy Profile

Avatar image
Tianna on January 14, 2015 12:52 pm

LOL @ juice places in Cali – so true. I tried a cleanse in the past and it was okay, but maybe this one would be better hmm! thanks for this :)

http://StorybookApothecary.com ♥ Stop by and chat with me :)
Tianna recently posted…Style Stories: Slightly Dramatic.My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:11 pm

Loved this one, I would definitely do again!

Avatar image
Ashley @ A Lady Goes West on January 14, 2015 1:15 pm

Hi Cassie! Interesting tale here. I’ve never done a juice cleanse, but I do like adding some healthy juices to my diet. I too went overboard during the holidays, but am trying to regulate that just by getting my diet back to normal on the weekdays. Weekend meals are still free reign. I’d hate to say it, but some of the weight you’ve gained may stick because living in SF means lots of good food all the time ahhha! But as long as you’re active and feel good, no big deal. Choose leggings instead of jeans. :) Happy Wednesday!
Ashley @ A Lady Goes West recently posted…Joining a healthy green movement and my eatsMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:03 pm

Haha no wonder everyone here wears yoga pants/leggings… all makes sense now :)

Avatar image
Ang @ Nutty for Life on January 14, 2015 1:50 pm

You know I’ve been wanting to try a juice cleanse lately! The 21dsd is enough for me right now, and I don’t have to pay $200 for three days of food lol. Ugh, shipping costs. Anyway, I’ll try one someday. Love you byeeeeee
Ang @ Nutty for Life recently posted…Nutty For: Top Five Holiday Gifts for Fitness LoversMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:02 pm

Some day when we’re selling them :)

Avatar image
Rachel@ Athletic Avocado on January 14, 2015 2:41 pm

I really want to try a juice cleanse!!!!
Rachel@ Athletic Avocado recently posted…WIAW: Whole Foods Salad Bar!My Profile

Avatar image
Jill on January 14, 2015 3:09 pm

I’ve never done a juice cleanse. I’ve thought about it but I’m not sure I could subsist on liquids only for 3 days! I feel like I’d be so hungry on day 4 that I’d literally eat everything in sight?!?
Jill recently posted…Rambling Food Thoughts: Raw garlic, Baby kale, Eggnog tea, and Cashew milkMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:02 pm

By day 4 you’re not even interested in eating real food anymore, it’s weird!

Avatar image
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs on January 14, 2015 3:33 pm

I did a juice cleanse a little over 2 years ago and it was….okay. I didn’t super love it, but I also wasn’t super miserable, either. I agree that it’s best used as a reset. I’d be open to doing one, even though I don’t necessarily agree with all the “benefits” “they” claim, I think it’s a good way to get back to not eating like shit.
There a are a few places in Calgary that do them, but they are pricey. This gal needs to save some pennies first.
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs recently posted…National dress up your pet dayMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:01 pm

I need to make my own juices because it is pricey! I don’t believe the claims but it’s a nice way to get away from eating like crap like you said.

Avatar image
Jo @ Living Mint Green on January 14, 2015 5:48 pm

I would do a juice cleanse simply for the convenience of not having to think about what I’m eating for a few days. Or after an indulgent holiday.
I just spent 4 days drinking tons of wine & eating everything I wanted & boy, does my stomach hurt now! Hahahah (it’s always so fun & worth it though)

I always get so jealous when Gina posts IG photos of that fun fro-yo stuff. Makes me wish I was in Cali with you gals. :(
Jo @ Living Mint Green recently posted…Jasper Adventures: Exploring Maligne CanyonMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:01 pm

Uhhh yeah it was so nice not to think about what I was eating. I kind of miss that.

Can you just come visit and we will eat fancy fro-yo all day?

Avatar image
GiselleR @ Diary of an ExSloth on January 14, 2015 6:33 pm

I’ve never done a juice cleanse but it’s on my list of things to maybe do one day. They’re expensive though and I work nowhere so I’d hate to buy all that juice and then not finish the cleanse.
p.s. LOL @ ‘more juice companies that people’ haha
GiselleR @ Diary of an ExSloth recently posted…Cranberry Pecan Sweet Potato MuffinsMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:00 pm

I think the money is what made me finish it both times!

Avatar image
Erin @ The Almond Eater on January 14, 2015 7:30 pm

I think you know this, but I’ve never done a juice cleanse. My excuse is that I can’t afford it lol….but really. Oh, and that I love food. Buuuuut I do want to try one someday! I do I do I do.

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:00 pm

You can come do one at D/R.

Avatar image
Mattie @ Comfy & Confident on January 14, 2015 9:56 pm

I have wanted to do a juice cleanse for a long time. I know what they say about not being good for you, but I’m with you, I think it is a good way to jump start clean eating.
Mattie @ Comfy & Confident recently posted…New Bedford Half MarathonMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 11:00 pm

Yes, it definitely gets your head in a good spot.

Avatar image
Whitney Carney on January 15, 2015 9:48 am

I did a juice cleanse last year after the holidays. It was only 1 day and I think it was $65 dollars maybe. It was from Mission Savvy.. the only juice bar in Charleston lol. I did fine and wasn’t hungry. I just really missed coffee.. a lot. I am not sure if I could do more than 1 day. I think I may have been feeling like you did haha.

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 10:59 pm

The coffee is what got me! A last night reminded me how miserable and awful I was for three days lol.

Avatar image
Alexis @ Hummusapien on January 15, 2015 8:23 pm

Good for you for doing a cleanse! That freeze looks like the best thing EVER. Now go eat some pizza!!

Avatar image
Cassie on January 17, 2015 10:58 pm

Basically back to my old eating ways, whoops. But loving juice + almonds for lunch because I’m so busy. ALSO made your vegan chocolate banana muffins today… amaze.

[…] Food I am dying over all of these fancy chocolate bar flavors. Does someone want to order me a bunch then I can eat them all and do another juice cleanse? […]

[…] I want to make it through the holiday season without feeling like I need to juice for a month afterward, I’ve compiled some tips that I’m going to follow during this […]

Avatar image
Taryn on January 4, 2016 7:37 pm

I am on the Pressed Cleanse 2 right now (Day 1 and already want to kill someone), and loved hearing your insights. I feel like the biggest hurdle is day 2, because waking up you realize that you still have 48 hours until you can chew and crunch on REAL food.

So ready to be done with this! Also ditto on the jeans thing, that’s the worst feeling!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge