Gluten Free Bagels with Chocolate Almond Cream Cheese [Product Review]

sweet note bakery gluten free bagels with chocolate almond cream cheese | almost getting it together

When I initially cut gluten out of my diet, it was a bit of a struggle for me to fuel properly for runs. I was used to eating toast with nut butter before a longer run in the morning or a sandwich for lunch if I was running after work. Before races, I would eat a bagel with peanut butter or almond butter, sliced banana and honey (extra glucose stores).

Despite really not caring for simple carbs for the most part (I’m Italian and would choose to eat pasta maybe once a year, if that), I for some reason really missed bagels. I think the ritual of eating a bagel before a race – a food I would never eat on a normal day – is what I missed most. Also I really love getting bagels when I’m visiting Carly at Bagel Boy.

sweet note bakery gluten free bagels with chocolate almond cream cheese | almost getting it together

Two rituals I don’t want to give up: coffee (always) and pre-race bagels.

The lovely ladies at Sweet Note Bakery were kind enough to send me their gluten free bagels to try. I had been having success with oatmeal as a pre-long run food so I wasn’t going to mess with that, but I thought they would be great to eat for breakfast the day before a race to carb-load with.

I haven’t tried any other gluten-free bagels as a disclaimer, but I have had gluten-free bread (not super into it) and gluten-free English muffins (kind of okay with them). These bagels had a very bagel-y texture and tasted like the ones I could get at Bagel Factory in Pittsburgh (but not NYC bagels – nothing compares to NYC bagels, except Montreal bagels which I would gluten myself for). I definitely enjoyed them and despite my lack of preparation otherwise, I’m going to assume these guys helped me out in Pittsburgh.

sweet note bakery gluten free bagels with chocolate almond cream cheese | almost getting it together

Toast your gluten free bagel, top with my Chocolate Almond Cream Cheese and sprinkle with cinnamon.

I wanted the full-on bagel experience but only had plain cream cheese (ew) so I mixed a few of my favorite things (nut butter and chocolate) together to get Chocolate Almond Cream Cheese.

5.0 from 2 reviews
Chocolate Almond Cream Cheese
Prep time
Total time
Recipe type: Spread
Cuisine: American
Serves: 1
  • 1 tbsp cream cheese
  • 1 tsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp cocoa powder
  1. Mix cream cheese, almond butter and cocoa powder together.


They come in plain, poppy seed, sesame seed, everything and cinnamon raisin (my fave!). If you’re looking for a delicious gluten free bagel, definitely give Sweet Note Bakery a try!

Disclaimer: I was not compensated for this post but I did receive bagels to try for this review. All opinions are my own.

Chat with me:
What is your favorite type of bagel and favorite smear to go with it – or are you a bagel-sandwich type of person?

29 comments on “Gluten Free Bagels with Chocolate Almond Cream Cheese [Product Review]

Avatar image
Kim @FITsique on May 13, 2014 9:28 am

Looks great!!! I am just transitioning into a gluten free life and just like you, the thing that I miss most is TOAST!!! I am going to check out these bagels for sure!
Kim @FITsique recently posted…How To Start, And Stick To A Fitness ProgramMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:16 pm

Toast gets easier with time. I found some great cinnamon raisin GF bread at a WF in Colorado… wish I remembered the brand!

Avatar image
Davida @The Healthy Maven on May 13, 2014 10:46 am

I had a slight panic attack there thinking you were preaching NYC bagels over the Montreal variety but luckily I kept reading. Totally willing to be glutened for those!
Davida @The Healthy Maven recently posted…Chocolate Matcha Energy Balls + An Energy Ball Round-Up!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:15 pm

Can you get some St Viateur bagels and I’ll just come meet you and have them with you tomorrow?? Thanks.

Avatar image
Susie @ SuzLyfe on May 13, 2014 10:57 am

You’re back! Hi friend! I have a 3 prong approach to bagels:
1) just as a snack–bagel thin (cinnamon raisin) with butter, jelly, and pb
2) for breakfast a) everything bagel thin or scooped out everything wheat bagel with egg white, bacon or turkey sausage (depending on where I am), tomato, lettuce, and salsa (if possible) or b) same bagel with smoked salmon, capers, red onion, tomato, and a light schmear of reg cream cheese.
3) what I really really want a) super cinnamon or chocolate chip with chocolate chip/hazelnut/fruit cream cheese (must be fresh home made) or b) asiago with reg cream cheese
The what I really really want option is what I used to get, but now my stomach would be less than pleased…
Susie @ SuzLyfe recently posted…Absentee Spouse #toughtalkMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:15 pm

I love your bagel 3-prong approach. Bagel thins are such a good combo, why didn’t I think about that? And yes, I was gone (crazy 50+ hour week stuffed into 4 days) but I’M BACK!! :)

Avatar image
Sam @ Better With Sprinkles on May 13, 2014 11:22 am

I love the sounds of that cream cheese! I don’t eat bagels too often, but when I do it’s definitely with cream cheese – blueberry bagels with strawberry cream cheese is definitely my fav.
Sam @ Better With Sprinkles recently posted…Extreme Hunger.My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:14 pm

OKAY THAT IS AN EPIC COMBO. I might try doing that… once I find some GF blueberry bagels :)

Avatar image
Amanda @ .running with spoons. on May 13, 2014 11:35 am

Okay that chocolate cream cheese is seriously genius — NEED to try it. And promise not to hate me if I admit that Im not super crazy about bagels? I’ll get the odd craving for a cinnamon raisin one topped with cream cheese and jam, but I usually go for toast or english muffins instead.
Amanda @ .running with spoons. recently posted…. vanilla cake batter smoothie .My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:13 pm

ENGLISH MUFFINS & TOAST OVER BAGELS. Totally agree. I don’t hate that at all. Why am I not surprised we’re on the same page, food wise?

Avatar image
Emilie on May 13, 2014 11:53 am

I love bagels but I haven’t had one in at least a year. My doctor had me cut gluten out of my diet last month and I’ve noticed a huge difference. So far I’ve only found one brand of bread I am kind of OK with, but I haven’t tried any GF bagels yet. I miss cupcakes the most so far – not that I eat them every day but not all bakeries offer them. I also miss farro. I love farro! This cream cheese recipe sounds delish!
Emilie recently posted…Weekly Recap: May 5 – May 11My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:10 pm

I’ve realized I don’t really miss that much… I flat bread is the one random thing I really miss. Also beer!

Avatar image
GiGi Eats on May 13, 2014 12:22 pm

GAH! I miss bagels and cream cheese. I was alllll about those poppy seed bagels and straight up plain, THICK SLAB of cream cheese! Ohhh Philly Cream Cheese how I loved thee and probably still do… Except I cannot eat you any longer. My taste buds were pretty narrow back when I could eat all the foods in the world (or so I thought)… However, I feel like I would ADORE this combo!
GiGi Eats recently posted…Exclusive Invite to the Party of the SummerMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:10 pm

I saw someone eating two white bagels with plain cream cheese a couple months ago and I was like “what are they doing??” How I also miss eating all the foods… wahhhh.

Avatar image
Ang @ Nutty for Life on May 13, 2014 12:57 pm

I love a bagel now and again but I’m just not much of a bagel girl! I usually would choose just toast instead. I know, I’m crazy. Also, I was looking at your sidebar introduction and I love that you casually say “been around the world once or twice.”
Ang @ Nutty for Life recently posted…Things That Have Happened In MayMy Profile

Avatar image
Erin @ The Almond Eater on May 13, 2014 3:01 pm

Chocolate almond cream cheese… mmmmm. I’m not much of a bagel person but once a month I might go CRAZY and have one. They’re really tasty just not super filling ya know? But I’ll eat that cream cheese straight… is that gross?
Erin @ The Almond Eater recently posted…Weekend in Farmington, PAMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:07 pm

Not gross at all… isn’t that why people eat bagels?? As a vessel for cream cheese?

Avatar image
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs on May 13, 2014 3:11 pm

Few things beat a good bagel. I don’t eat them frequently, but when I do, I enjoy every last bite. I definitely need to try your recipe – especially with the added cinnamon! I sprinkle cinnamon on my waffles on weekends and it’s so dang good!
Ange @ Cowgirl Runs recently posted…Mail and Birthday TreatsMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:07 pm

Cinnamon is that spice you forget about until you’re enjoying it… I need to add it to waffles, never thought of that!

Avatar image
Hilary on May 13, 2014 5:39 pm

That cream cheese is such a great creation! Thanks for sharing! I also cut gluten out of my diet, due to intolerance and I am always up for a new gluten free product!
Hilary recently posted…Spill It Sunday – Angela’s Edition!My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:06 pm

I try to stay away from them normally because sometimes they have weird fillers but this one was preservative-free!

Avatar image
Lindsay on May 13, 2014 6:36 pm

ohh i would love to try those bagels! does it come with your home made cream cheese?! hehe please say yes!
Lindsay recently posted…Are You a Health Blog Junkie?My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:06 pm

Yes, if you come to PGH! :)

Avatar image
Matt @ Runner Savvy on May 13, 2014 8:02 pm

A bagel with PB + banana is my fav!
Matt @ Runner Savvy recently posted…Dallas Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon Race ReportMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:05 pm

Such a great combo!

Avatar image
Jessie on May 13, 2014 10:04 pm

Woah Woah Woah! Almond butter and cream cheese mixed together? Now that’s one good idea. Aren’t you just a genius! The bagels sound great. Have you ever tried Udi’s? Their awesome!!!
Jessie recently posted…WIAW: Meals from May 13th 2014My Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:04 pm

I haven’t tried Udi’s! I need to give them a try!!

Avatar image
Arman @ thebigmansworld on May 14, 2014 4:01 am

Bagels need to happen in australia. STAT.

Legit just before our too short skype sesh, I was hunting for Jewish bagels…only to find the place closed!
Arman @ thebigmansworld recently posted…Embracing the leftovers- My day on a plateMy Profile

Avatar image
Cassie on May 16, 2014 4:04 pm

YES. Australian bagels. Is that a thing?? Are you sure you’re ready for the three musketeers (me, ang and davs?)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Rate this recipe:  

CommentLuv badge